Episode 49: femchord SXSW Preview

femchord is headed to SXSW. While we’ll be recording from Austin and posting those tapes here, this episode is dedicated to the artists we’re excited to see there, including some who we’ll be chatting with at the festival.

One of the things we’ll be doing at SXSW is hosting a panel on safe spaces in the music industry on Friday, March 17 at 2-3 p.m. (CST). We recently had some changes to the panelists who will be joining us for that. We have added Jade Payne from Aye Nako and Sadie Dupuis of Speedy Ortiz and Sad13. Unfortunately, Ben and Liv of PWR BTTM had to drop out of the panel.

Both Jade and Sadie will bring insight as artists, and from their experiences working to create inclusivity and safety for their fans and others’ at shows.

The panel also features Jessica Raven, who will bring her perspective from her work with SafeBars, an initiative that trains bar staff in bystander intervention strategies.

In addition to hosting the panel, femchord will also be live recording an episode on the SXSW Podcast Stage on Thursday March 16 at 2-3 p.m. (CST), and fangirling over all of the fantastic musicians performing.




Aye Nako – Particle Mace – Silver Haze

Speedy Ortiz – In My Way – First 100 Days (compilation)

PWR BTTM – New Hampshire – New Hampshire (single)

Slotface – Bright Lights – Empire Records EP

ARY – Childhood Dreams – Childhood Dreams (single)

IDER – Face On – Face On (single)

Jain – Come – Zanaka

Author: femchord